We get down and dirty with the Orange Marsupials

Orange Marsupials

Hailing from Michigan, the Orange Marsupials are truly, not only a unique band, but also a very talented one. You can check out a video of them performing live at Clutch Cargos right here! Below is our Q&A session:

First things first, I’ve been dying to ask you guys: what is an orange marsupial?

LISA: They thought up the name before I joined the band, but I do know that a marsupial is; It’s any mammal in which the female has a pouch. Since our name is Orange Marsupials, it narrows it down to kangaroos (well that’s the only orange marsupial I can think of). For our logo I basically looked up kangaroo pictures after I heard what our band name was and I found a kangaroo crossing sign, then my friend changed the words around it to “Orange Marsupials”.

What would your dream show be?

NICK(Preztel) and SAZ: Opening up for Bob Marley at his ‘One Love Peace Concert’, playing with Hendrix at Woodstock, or playing with the Chili Peppers.

LISA: I’d love to play a show with 311. As far as earlier eras, I’d have to say Woodstock and I’d wanna go on right before Joe Cocker.

KEVIN: Opening up for the Detox Tour when Dr. Dre drops his new album.

SAZ reminds me of Hendrix

SAZ: Thanks, I get that a lot.

You are one of the most original bands I’ve heard in a while. When I was listening to you guys live at Clutch Cargo, I thought to myself wow this is the most productive jam session ever! What’s your writing process like?

LISA: One of us always comes in with a new guitar riff or lyrics and everyone has their own idea about how the song should go, but for some reason all of our unique parts just work together really well.

Besides writing amazing music, what do you all do for fun?

KEVIN: We chill to Dr. Dre and Outkast or we watch funny videos on YouTube, like fat kids falling off of jungle gyms.
We recently heard that you are going in the studio, when can we expect to hear some music or rough songs?

NICK: A guy at my work rents out recording equipment so we’re gonna borrow it in two weeks and get some music down. We wanted to have some music up by now from our Clutch Cargo’s recording, but it sounded like shit. It would make even the greats sound bad.

Lisa, does being the front girl kick ass? How many guys hit on you after the show?

LISA: I love singing lead. I don’t mean to sound clichĂ© but it really is a fucking amazing feeling. And as far as the males go, I get congratulations after shows but that’s about it. Plus, my boyfriend is usually at all of the shows staring down any guy who gives me a sideways glance, haha.

A Shout out to any fans?

LISA: I just wanna give a shout-out to all of the people who ever enjoyed any of our shows. Specifically, my boyfriend, my family, my friends, and all of the people in the following bands: Little Blue Bedroom (formerly James and the Rainbros), Essence of Ape, Walk Your Bike, Treehouse Rivals, The Cozmonauts and Almost Free.

NICK (Preztel): I would like to give a shout out to our old fans and our new fans. and also Andre 3 Stacks, Bob Marley, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Rage Against the Machine, 311, Jimi Hendrix, Sublime, Jon Regan, Duke, Jack Black, the Breakfest Club, John Butler Trio, Monster, Kevins Family, Middletons Black n Milds, 1983 Cadilac Sedan Deville. and many many more. those are just the things that inspire, and made my music style what it is today.

KEVIN: Dr. Dre, Bob Marley, Tupac, just West Coast rap in general.

SAZ: Papa Hendrix, ketchup and Hawaii.

RAY: My baby’s momma’s baby’s momma’s momma’s, I’m sorry Ms. Jackson, I am for reeeeeeeeeeal. And Will Smith.

ALL: All of us pretty much agree on all of the above shout outs.

Would you rock a SerTop wristband?

ALL: If you can get us orange ones, no doubt. And if you can’t… no doubt. But for real, can you get us some orange ones? That would be fucking sweet.


One Response

  1. […] We Get Down & Dirty With The Orange Marsupials […]

Leave a Reply

